top of page
HBCU Logo-01.png

Who We Are

The HBCU-LEEA, Inc. is a nonprofit 501c3 national organization of police chiefs, executives and security directors that advance campus public safety for its students attending the 101 HBCU educational institutions nationally. Most of the HBCU campus police departments are certified police agencies with sworn police officers. These officers are certified through their respective states as are other local police departments. In 1999, the concept of the HBCU-LEEA was born when a group of concerned campus police chiefs and campus public safety directors reached consensus on the need to organize for the purposes of information-sharing and collectively addressing mutual challenges.


Director Ruth Evans

Interim President

Formerly @Lincoln University of PA


Chief Mary Young 

Interim Vice President & Secretary

Texas Southern University


Chief Joycelyn Johnson

Treasurere/Financial Secretary

Southern University - Baton Rouge


Chief Terence Calloway

Immediate Past president

Florida A&M University

Unknown copy.jpeg

Chief Eric Sullivan


Formerly @ Harris-Stowe State


Chief Jacques Battiste

Sergeant At Arms

Formerly @ Xavier University


Former Chief Ernest Waiters


Bowie State University

To contact your regional VP, just click on their names to send an email.

Regional 1: Chief David Glover – Hampton University (East – Northeast)

Virginia, West Virginia, Delaware, Pennsylvania, Maryland, DC, Ohio.

Regional 2: Deputy Chief Kelly White  - Winston-Salem State University (East – Southeast)

North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Kentucky.

Regional 3: Cheryl Lawson-Young – Formerly at Bethune Cookman University (South Central)

Georgia, Florida, and the Virgin Islands.

Regional 4: Chief Xavier Redmond – Mississippi Valley State University (South)

Louisiana, Mississippi, Alabama.

Regional 5: Chief Arthur Williams –Philander Smith College (Central)

Arkansas, Missouri, Kansas.

Regional 6: Chief Leslie York - Huston-Tillotson University (West – Southwest)

Texas, Oklahoma.

bottom of page